Standing Innovation 2019

Standing InnOvation

UF Innovate | Tech Licensing honored innovators in a hybrid event September 22 called Standing InnOvation, the best kind of “standing ovation” you can give to innovators. The virtual event component included a live-stream video and a Zoom happy hour. 

Dr. David Norton, vice president of UF Research, and Jim O’Connell, assistant vice president of UF Innovate, emceed the event. They introduced seven awards — six inventions of the year and one innovator of the year. The inventions and the innovators were showcased in pre-recorded videos we include on this page; if you prefer to read, you can do that here

In addition to the virtual component, all invitees (inventors who had disclosed, licensed, or optioned a technology in FY20 and their deans and department heads) received a lightbulb card via campus mail and the opportunity to pick up a gift box containing a cool, insulated mug, a bottle of sparkling wine, and some delectable chocolate truffles. 

All in all, the event was an opportunity for Tech Licensing to honor its innovators and connect with them on an entirely different level than was done previously at our in-person event. We are extremely thankful for Wolf Greenfield Intellectual Property Attorneys for sponsoring the event. We’ve gotten many kudos for the event’s quality, and we credit Wolf Greenfield’s generosity that allowed us to do Standing InnOvation right. 

Richard Snyder

David Wei

Samsun Lampotang

Yiannis Ampatzidis

David Tran

Mark Tehranipoor

Vidyasagar Sadavasin

Livestream Event