UF Physics

David B. Tanner Wins Top US Prize in Experimental Particle Physics

Distinguished Professor of Physics DAVID B. TANNER has been awarded the American Physical Society (APS) 2024 W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics for his innovative contributions to the field. The prestigious award underscores Tanner’s exceptional standing within the scientific community. Since joining the UF faculty in 1982, he has not only excelled as an educator and mentor but also served as a forward-thinking department chair. Additionally, Tanner continues to make an impact through his experimental research on dark matter axions, an endeavor that began over 40 years ago.